Stages of Sleep: NREM Sleep vs REM Sleep

rem vs nrem

What is REM?

What is REM?

REM sleep, or rapid eye movement sleep, is a stage of sleep characterized by rapid eye movements and increased brain activity. It is the deepest stage of sleep and usually lasts for about 20 minutes. During REM sleep, your heart rate and breathing become irregular and your body temperature decreases. Your brain activity increases, which may cause you to dream. Although you are not consciously aware of your dreams, they can be vivid and sometimes bizarre.

REM sleep is important for memory formation and emotional regulation. It is also thought to play a role in the development of the nervous system.

What is NREM?

There are five stages of sleep: N1, N2, N3, and REM. They are all different and have different purposes.
Sleep medicine is the study of sleep and its disorders.
The first stage of sleep is called N1. It is the lightest stage of sleep and lasts for about five minutes. You may feel drowsy during this stage.
The second stage of sleep is called N2. It is a deeper stage of sleep and lasts for about 20 minutes. Your heart rate slows down and your body temperature decreases during this stage.
The third stage of sleep is called N3. It is the deepest stage of sleep and lasts for about 30 minutes. Your blood pressure decreases and your breathing becomes regular during this stage.
REM stands for rapid eye movement. REM sleep is when you dream. It is the lightest stage of sleep and only lasts for about 10 minutes.

The Difference Between REM and NREM

REM sleep is known as active sleep because of the rapid eye movements that occur during this phase. NREM sleep is also referred to as quiet or deep sleep. The main difference between the two types of sleep is that REM sleep is characterized by higher levels of brain activity and more dreams, while NREM sleep is associated with slower brainwaves and less dreaming.

During a typical night, a person will cycle through different stages of both REM and NREM sleep several times. The first few hours of sleep are typically mostly NREM, with some brief periods of REM. As the night progresses, there becomes more of a balance between the two types of sleep.

Slow wave or deepsleep happens mostly in stage three NREM Sleepers usually don’t remember much if anything from dreams during these stages since they lack the kind of mental activity associated with REM Sleep. However, it’s still an important part of getting restorative rest since it allows your body to repair itself physically.

Benefits of Getting a Good Night’s Sleep

A good night’s sleep is important for many reasons. It can help improve your mood, increase your energy levels, and help you focus during the day. Getting enough sleep can also reduce your risk of developing certain chronic health conditions, such as obesity and diabetes.

There are two main types of sleep: REM (rapid eye movement) and NREM (non-REM). Each type has different stages, and each stage has different benefits.

During the NREM stages of sleep, your body relaxes and your brain waves slow down. This type of sleep is important for physical healing and restoring energy levels.

During REM sleep, your brain is active and you may have dreams. This type of sleep is important for emotional health and memory function.

Most people cycle through all four stages of sleep several times throughout the night. It is important to get a good balance of all four stages in order to experience all the benefits of sleep.